The Basketblog

Celebrating the love of the Game.

NBA Officials

If there’s anything to bring me back from a long hiatus, it’s a good scandal. Or, in this case, a very bad one.

I’m a little late on this one, so I have no new opinions to share with you. Read these articles. My first thought when I heard the news was, “Heh, that’s not surprising.” Then, like the articles mention, I started wondering who it was. There was no surprise for me. I thought maybe I was just cynical because I played and now semi-coach in a league with poor officials. Surely most NBA fans trusted their officials. After all, they’re the best officials in the world, right?

Maybe not. Maybe I was right in calling the NBA the “most corrupt professional sports league” (in the US anyway) . So what if baseball and football allow their players to cheat? At least of both teams are cheating, neither has an advantage. When the officials cheat, one team gets a clear advantage and the league becomes corrupt. When the officials are bad, one team tends to get an advantage and the league becomes corrupt. I’ve seen high school games decided by the refs before, but I always thought maybe I was imagining that in the NBA some teams could be advantaged by the officials.

Another article to read. I was stunned to find that I never posted anything about Game 3 of the Suns/Spurs series. If I recall correctly, I was actually too ticked off at the time to write anything about it. That article mentions that the worst no-call was not Donaghy’s fault, but it fails to mention that the worst call was made by Donaghy. Remember the foul drawn by Ginobili that was called a couple seconds late by the official in the worst position? I remember complaining loudly (to myself) that someone else should have overruled him on it. There are already a ton of videos on Youtube claiming to be proof that Donaghy bet on some particular game, and most of them are probably crap. This one, however, is worth a look (note, however, that not all the calls were made by Donaghy):

I’m somewhat of a Suns fan myself, so I can guess how they feel about this. They could argue that they were legitimately screwed in Game 5, they were screwed by Nash’s injury in Game 1, and now they can argue that they were screwed in Game 3 as well. A win in any of those games, and the series would have gone to Game 7 in Phoenix. Even if it’s never proven whether he bet on this game, this situation is bad for Phoenix and bad for the NBA. I know I’m going to question the officials every time there’s a questionable game, and now I know I won’t be the only one.

July 25, 2007 - Posted by | NBA, Phoenix Suns, San Antonio Spurs | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

